Dunlop Slazenger Factory

Once again I have teamed up with my photography gang and we went to the old abandoned Dunlop Slazenger Factory in Alexandria.  We came across some really random objects in there and some really cool vintage items such as the old type writer and the Slazenger shoes and rackets. We also got really excited when we can across the golf ball patent papers just randomly laying in the dirt.

I kept going through all the old paperwork and folders left behind, there was a HUGE stack of them. Most were really soggy but you could read a lot of it, I was really fascinated.

It’s beautiful but sad to see buildings, and our history deteriorate right before our eyes.

Something that truly fascinates me, with the question of what was this place like when it was in use, what were the times like? I wish I could have a time traveling machine and go back in those days. I’m sure we all do.

Enjoy x

About Lexi

📷 PHOTOGRAPHER + GRAPHIC DESIGNER based in Sydney, Australia. Art director for ANZ Snowboarding Magazine, K-Zone and Luna + Honey.

13 comments

  1. Nathan

    WOW!!! Great collection S, love the work!!! Keel it up

  2. chloe

    hey there….
    can u pls tell me what street this warehouse is on in alexandria?
    p.s amazing pics!!
    thanks

    chloe

  3. hey im just starting out as a photographer and i want to do some work there. could you please give me details to get there by public transport? thanks and nice photoes

  4. yehh i am im in sydney for a few months staying in bronte. do you know where it is?

    • Ryan

      It’s at 9 Bowden St Alexandria. Went there for the first time yesterday and will be going back soon. To get in you go through the wasteland next door and up the back there is a window with a ladder leading down. I took some nice chinaman hat shaped lightshades and will be going back to get a lot of the old steel conduit and fixtures. I am trying to install period correct lighting in my 100yo shed so this place is a good resource. There was only one person there when I was there; a sleeping bum. Careful when in the 2 storey office building; there are a lot of white ants there and I almost went straight through one of the flights of stairs. Allow about 2 hours to see it all.

  5. Just tried again and RSS worked.. sorry for the double post.

  6. Jenz

    Hey
    I am would also love to check this place out with my Camera
    Great snaps, looks spooky and heaps of fun!
    Where in Alexandria is it?

    • Don’t remember the street name. But it is between all the big factories there, you can’t miss it. Huge sign saying Slazenger.

  7. Kim V

    My Mum used to work there befor she had me…if you have any questions 🙂

    • Hi Kim,

      WOW that’s so cool. When did it close down? And why? What happened to the people who worked there? Redundant?
      I can’t actually find any information on the place.

      Thanks for stopping by 🙂

  8. skavatar

    Nice photos. I recently went there for photo shoot and although the front door was locked, there was a hole in the back fence which lets you access the location. Very interesting place indeed. http://scott-kim-photography.blogspot.com.au/2013/11/dunlop-slazenger-factory-urban-decay.html

Leave a Reply

